Wymondham

Built from local ironstone and topped with brick, the Windmill is a five-story tower mill circa 1814.  It has an ogee cap and fantail.  Originally with six patent sails, known as a Six Arm Lincolnshire Cross. The Mill ceased grinding corn (by then, powered by an engine) in 1952 but continued with cattle feed until 1960.  It is one of only four six-sailed windmills remaining in the country and is now a grade 2 listed mill. The mill is being lovingly restored by its owners Vincent and Sarahjayne Fletcher. The mill is part of a 7 acre visitor attraction open to the public 364 days a year and welcomes 35,000 visitors annually. The Tea Room serves lunches and cakes making the site a meeting point and destination. The windmill is at the heart of the site and visitors are free to explore the building.

The drawings are ongoing as the mill moves forward with its restoration so some parts of the images are speculative.

tower-rev-A1-
GF2
Wym-section-2
GFloor
quant
wym-lower2-
governor
scene1-bw1
WYMONDHAM_WINDMILL_800_TheLivingMill_Restoration_v2

Click on the image to connect to the Wymondham web site

outside-3
equip-2
sack-hoist
quants
7th1
round-3-1col

Wymondham Windmill Tearoom and shops are based around a 200 year old windmill. Partially restored the mill provides a superb view of the unspoilt countryside. Together with the Tearooms, Woodland and the Boutique Shops, is a unique visitor attraction. Private business meetings, corporate packages or marquee weddings are available in a beautiful setting

Wymondham_windmill

The windmill at present isnt fitted with its sails or fantail which when sufficient funds have been raised will be reinstated