Carew Tidal Mill

Carew Tidal Mill (Melin Caeriw in Welsh) is a corn mill in Pembrokeshire, Wales, powered by tidal water. It was built around 1801 just west of Carew Castle, and replaced a much older mill in the same location. The mill pond fills through open flood gates as the tide comes in. The gates are closed at high tide, and the pond drains through sluices under the mill as the tide falls, driving two undershot water wheels. It is the only intact mill of this type in Wales. It was abandoned in 1937, was restored in 1972, The mill was leased to the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority in 1983 and now is open to the public as a museum.

The survey and drawings prepared on behalf of Cymdeithas Melinau Cymru - Welsh Mills Society


East wall removed


 West wall removed

Carew assembly-2 carew-1-3d
carew equip-1
carew equip-3
carew whole-3
carew whole-4
carew oat-crusher
1-carew-5-3d 1-carew-6-3d
carew wire2 carew-2

Carew Castle and Tidal Mill’s rich history spans over 2,000 years and tells of knights of the realm, kingmakers, Elizabethan intrigue and Civil War devastation.
 Set in a stunning location overlooking a 23-acre Millpond, the Castle is one of the most architecturally diverse in Wales; from the west a Norman fortress, yet from the north a splendid Elizabethan mansion.

The site also incorporates the only restored Tidal Mill in Wales, an 11th century Celtic cross, a Medieval bridge and picnic area all linked by a mile-long circular walk, suitable for buggies and wheelchairs, with magnificent views over the Millpond

Click on the image to open the visit Wales website about the Mill and the Castle